Farewell My Concubine: Film Music Classics from Chinese Cinema ()


Write The First Customer Review
Show Synopsis

The greatest surprise to the lay listener about this album of film score excerpts from Chinese films of the 1980s and '90s may be just how little of it sounds like traditional Chinese music; of the 14 selections, only the last one, Huang Jan's "Blue Sea Laughter" from Swordsman, is immediately recognizable as Chinese. One reason for this may be that these are not actual soundtrack recordings, but versions of scores that have been newly arranged and orchestrated, being played by the City of Prague Philharmonic with some ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Once upon a Time in China (Main Theme)
  2. A City of Sadness (Main Title)
  3. Farewell My Concubine (Bygone Love)
  4. A Chinese Ghost Story (Halt the Sunrise)
  5. The Puppet Master (Goat Hongs Song)
  6. The Osmanthus Alley (Main Title)
  7. Temptress Moon (Take for Granted)
  8. Eat Drink Man Woman (You Make Me Happy Sad)
  9. Red Rose, White Rose (The Fragrance of Roses)
  10. A Moment of Romance (Main Title)
  11. The Actress (Burial of Heart)
  12. My Best Love (Main Title)
  13. Red Dust (Until the End of the World)
  14. Swordsman (Blue Sea Laughter)
Show Fewer Tracks

Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency

Customer Reviews

Write a Review

This item doesn't have extra editions